Following Official Announcement of U.S. Space Command, Colorado Congressional Delegation and Governor Reiterate Call for Basing Headquarters in Colorado

Colorado – Today, following the White House’s official announcement of the creation of U.S. Space Command, the entire Colorado Congressional Delegation and Governor Jared Polis sent a new letter to the U.S. Department of Defense reiterating their call for the headquarters to be reestablished in Colorado.  

In the letter to acting Secretary of the Air Force Matthew Donovan and Commander of U.S. Space Command General John W. Raymond, the leaders tout Colorado’s leading role in national security space, its robust aerospace industry, and its existing infrastructure as the ideal foundation on which to reestablish U.S. Space Command.

“Throughout the basing process, the Colorado community has demonstrated continued support for U.S. Space Command, further augmenting the workforce talent, innovation in industry, institutions of higher education, national labs, and unparalleled quality of life Colorado already provides,” wrote the leaders.

The letter continues: “We welcome your leadership and are certain you will see the unmatched potential Colorado has to offer U.S. Space Command as the nexus of national security space, industry, workforce, and innovation.”

In the National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2019, which became law in August 2018, Congress directed the Department of Defense to establish U.S. Space Command under U.S. Strategic Command. In December 2018, President Trump signed an executive order to create U.S. Space Command separate from U.S. Strategic Command. Earlier this year, the delegation and governor sent a letter urging the Department of Defense to reestablish U.S. Space Command in Colorado. In May, the Air Force named six finalist bases, four of which are located in Colorado: Buckley Air Force Base in Aurora, Cheyenne Mountain Air Force Station in Colorado Springs, Peterson Air Force Base in Colorado Springs, and Schriever Air Force Base in Colorado Springs. In a ceremony at the White House today, the president officially announced the creation of U.S. Space Command.

Today’s letter was signed by U.S. Senators Michael Bennet and Cory Gardner; Governor Jared Polis; and U.S. Reps. Doug Lamborn, Diana DeGette, Ed Perlmutter, Scott Tipton, Ken Buck, Jason Crow and Joe Neguse.

A copy of the letter is available HERE.