Drought Conditions Bring USDA Disaster Designations for Colorado Counties

Producers Eligible for Assistance from Farm Service Agency

Washington, DC - Colorado U.S. Senator Michael Bennet today announced the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) issued contiguous disaster designations for 21 Colorado counties due to recent drought conditions in southwest Colorado and along the Eastern plains. The designations mean farmers and ranchers are eligible for assistance from the Farm Service Agency.

"Excessively dry conditions continue to plague our producers around the state, causing them financial and operational hardships," Bennet said. "With these disaster designations, farmers and ranchers will be able to access critical assistance to help them deal with any losses to crops or livestock."

Producers in the following counties are eligible for assistance: Arapahoe, Archuleta, Baca, Bent, Cheyenne, Costilla, Crowley, Elbert, El Paso, Huerfano, Kiowa, Kit Carson, La Plata, Las Animas, Lincoln, Montezuma, Otero, Prowers, Pueblo, Washington, and Yuma.

Producers in counties designated as primary or contiguous disaster areas are eligible to be considered for FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the disaster declaration to apply for assistance. Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers and ranchers with additional information.

# # #