Bennet Pushes Bipartisan Line-Item Veto Proposal

Reiterates Call for a Debate on the Deficit Commission's Recommendations

Washington, DC – Colorado U.S. Senator Michael Bennet today joined a bipartisan group of Senators to call for passage of a bill to give the president line-item veto authority to reduce wasteful spending. Bennet is an original cosponsor of The Reduce Unnecessary Spending Act.

"As Colorado families continue to tighten their belts, it is time Washington starts doing the same by making the smart choices to reduce the debt and deficit, so we don't stick our children with the bill," said Sen. Bennet. "The Reduce Unnecessary Spending Act would give us another tool to cut wasteful spending and ensure Colorado tax dollars are spent responsibly.  Congress needs to move forward with a debate on this and other bipartisan measures to reduce our deficit, including the recommendations made by the Deficit Commission."

The Reduce Unnecessary Spending Act would enable any president to single out and propose the removal of earmarks and other spending in bills that are sent to the White House for the president's signature. The president would then send those specific items back to Congress for expedited votes on whether or not to cancel or reduce funding for the provisions. 

The Reduce Unnecessary Spending Act was first introduced by Sens. Carper and McCain, as well as former Sen. Russ Feingold (D-Wis.), during the 111th Congress, and Sen. Bennet cosponsored it then too. Sens. Carper and McCain reintroduced the bill last month.  Besides Senator Bennet, bipartisan cosponsors of the bill include Senators Mark Begich (D-Alaska), Scott P. Brown (R-Mass.), Benjamin L. Cardin (D-Md.), Daniel Coats (R-Ind.), Tom Coburn (R-Okla.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), John Ensign (R-Nev.), Michael B. Enzi (R-Wyo.), Kirsten E. Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Mike Johanns (R-Neb.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Joseph I. Lieberman (I-Conn.), Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Benjamin E. Nelson (D-Neb.), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), James E. Risch (R-Idaho), John Thune (R-S.D.), Mark Udall (D-Colo.), Mark Warner (D-Va.) and Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.).