USDA Designates Eight Colorado Counties as Drought Disaster Areas

Designations Make Farmers, Ranchers Eligible for Assistance

Colorado U.S. Senator Michael Bennet today announced the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) issued contiguous disaster designations for eight Colorado counties due to recent drought conditions. The designations mean farmers and ranchers are eligible for assistance from the Farm Service Agency.

“Despite above-average snowpack in Colorado’s mountains, many of our producers along the Eastern plains continue to suffer through severe drought conditions,” Bennet said. “With these designations, farmers and ranchers will be able to access critical assistance to help them deal with any losses to crops or livestock. Thankfully, our producers have a full, five-year Farm Bill they can rely on to help them through tough times like these.”

Producers in the following counties are eligible for assistance: Baca, Cheyenne, Kiowa, Kit Carson, Phillips, Prowers, Sedgwick, and Yuma.

Producers in counties designated as primary or contiguous disaster areas are eligible to be considered for FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the disaster declaration to apply for assistance. Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers and ranchers with additional information.