Bennet, Bicameral Democratic Lawmakers Urge ICE, DHS to Immediately Withdraw New Guidance that Threatens International Students with Deportation

Lawmakers: "ICE's new policy is irrational and xenophobic, and risks the health of students, faculty, and staff."

Denver – Colorado U.S. Senator Michael Bennet joined 97 members of the U.S. Senate and U.S. House of Representatives in a letter to U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) urging the agencies to withdraw new guidance from ICE that threatens international students with deportation if they do not take in-person classes this coming academic year. 

In the letter to ICE Deputy Director Matthew Albence and DHS Acting Secretary Chad Wolf, Bennet and the lawmakers expressed deep concerns that ICE's guidance is motivated not by public health considerations, but animus toward non-citizens and immigrants. They also criticize the guidance as a flagrant attempt to hold international students hostage to force schools to reopen even as cases of novel Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) rise.  

"ICE's announcement of their plans to force out or deport international students who remain at U.S. colleges and universities and who are taking a full online course load is cruel and unconscionable," wrote Bennet and the lawmakers. "These students are already in the United States, are established members of educational communities, and have been determined through the visa screening process to pose no danger to the United States."  

"We call out this policy for what it is: a cruel, senseless, and xenophobic attempt to use noncitizens as political pawns in order to financially coerce colleges and universities to reopen campuses this fall, despite what is best for public health," continued Bennet and the lawmakers. "This policy is dangerous to the health and well-being of numerous communities." 

Some colleges and universities have transitioned to online learning due to the pandemic, consistent with guidelines from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), which advises institutions of higher education to "adjust() to meet the unique needs and circumstances" they face when trying to keep their communities safe. On Monday, ICE issued guidance that altered the Student and Exchange Visitor Program's requirements for international students, imposing a one-size-fits-all standard on all colleges and universities. According to that guidance, international students on F-1 visas (for full-time study at an academic institution) and M-1 visas (for vocational or other nonacademic training) will not be allowed to take a full online course load while in the United States. This affects incoming students, who will not be permitted to receive their visas or enter the country, as well as international students already in the United States. Under the new guidance, current international students in the United States will have to transfer to another school with in-person classes, leave the country, or face deportation. 

Due to the Trump Administration's catastrophic mishandling of the pandemic, COVID-19 continues to rage throughout the United States, causing many institutions of higher education to move most or all of their courses online to protect their students, faculty, and staff. Some colleges developed these plans in consultation with local public health officials, and these plans are consistent with the CDC's guidance for colleges and universities, which advises them to "offer virtual learning and telework options, if feasible." 

Although the Trump Administration is attempting to blame this new guidance on existing regulations, it is failing to preserve or pursue options to provide flexibility to international students and institutions of higher education. At the same time, recent statements by administration officials suggest that DHS and ICE released this guidance as a pretext to force institutions of higher education to reopen against the advice of public health experts and local officials.

In addition to urging ICE and DHS to rescind this policy immediately, Bennet and the lawmakers requested a staff briefing to discuss the administration's rationale for this reckless policy by July 16, 2020.  

In addition to Bennet, the letter was also signed by U.S. Senators Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Edward J. Markey (D-Mass.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Charles E. Schumer (D-N.Y.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Mazie K. Hirono (D-Hawai'i.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio.), Robert Menendez (D-N.J.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.),  Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Kamala D. Harris (D-Calif.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), and Tom Udall (D-N.M.).  

The letter was also signed by U.S. Representatives Ayanna Pressley (D-Mass.), Jerrold Nadler (D-N.Y.), Zoe Lofgren (D-Calif.), Pramila Jayapal (D-Wash.), Joe Neguse (D-Colo.), Katherine Clark (D-Mass.), Seth Moulton (D-Mass.), Jesús G. "Chuy" García (D-Ill.), Nydia M. Velázquez (D-N.Y.), Gerald E. Connolly (D-Va.), Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-N.Y.), Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-N.J.) Ilhan Omar (D-Minn.), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-D.C.), Danny K. Davis (D-Ill.), Jamie Raskin (D-Md.), Peter Welch (D-Vt.), Lori Trahan (D-Mass.), Jan Schakowsky (D-Ill.), Yvette D. Clarke (D-N.Y.), Betty McCollum (D-Minn.), Jim Cooper (D-Tenn.), Hakeem Jeffries (D-N.Y.), Mark Pocan (D-Wis.), Dina Titus (D-Nev.), Jackie Speier (D-Calif.), Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. (D-Ga.), James P. McGovern (D-Mass.), Rosa L. DeLauro (D-Conn.), David Price (D-N.C.), Judy Chu (D-Calif.), Grace F. Napolitano (D-Calif.), Juan Vargas (D-Calif.), David N. Cicilline (D-R.I.), Adam Smith (D-Wash.), Deb Haaland (D-N.M.), Alan Lowenthal (D-Calif.), Diana DeGette (D-Colo.), Ted Deutch (D-Fla.), Carolyn B. Maloney (D-N.Y.), Lois Frankel (D-Fla.), Sylvia R. Garcia (D-Texas), Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-Fla.), Gregory W. Meeks (D-N.Y.), Val B. Demings (D-Fla.), Emanuel Cleaver, II (D-Mo.), Suzanne Bonamici (D-Ore.), Ted W. Lieu (D-Calif.), William R. Keating (D-Mass.), Albio Sires (D-N.J.), Lisa Blunt Rochester (D-Del.), John Yarmuth (D-Ky.), Joseph P. Kennedy, III (D-Mass.), Filemon Vela (D-Texas), Rashida Tlaib (D-Mich.), Tony Cárdenas (D-Calif.), Debbie Dingell (D-Mich.), André Carson (D-Ind.), Nita M. Lowey (D-N.Y.), Mike Doyle (D-Pa.), Jahana Hayes (D-Conn.), Raúl M. Grijalva (D-Ariz.), Paul D. Tonko (D-N.Y.), Jimmy Panetta (D-Calif.), Eric Swalwell (D-Calif.), and Earl Blumenauer (D-Ore.). 

The American Immigration Lawyers Association also supports the letter. 

The text of the letter is available HERE.