Early 2014 Deep Freeze Triggers USDA Disaster Designations for Eight Colorado Counties

Producers Eligible for Assistance from Farm Service Agency

Colorado U.S. Senator Michael Bennet announced today that the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated eight Colorado counties as disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by severe freezes that occurred between December 4, 2013 and May 15, 2014.

Loss assessment reports were completed last month, which triggered the secretarial disaster designations. The designations make farmers and ranchers in Delta, Garfield, Gunnison, Mesa, Montrose, Ouray, Pitkin, and San Miguel counties eligible for assistance from the Farm Service Agency.

"Unpredictable weather often provides a unique challenge for Colorado's farmers and ranchers. Deep freezes, persistent drought, and severe thunderstorms can wreak havoc on their operations throughout the state," Bennet said. "Thankfully, we have a system in place to support these producers when they suffer heavy losses due to weather. These designations will make crucial assistance available to producers along the Western Slope."

Producers in counties designated as primary or contiguous disaster areas are eligible to be considered for FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the disaster declaration to apply for assistance.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers and ranchers with additional information:

Delta County Farm Service Agency
690 Industry Blvd
Delta, CO 81416-2812
(970) 874-5726

Montrose County Farm Service Agency
(Also serving Gunnison and Ouray counties)
102 Par Pl
Montrose, CO 81401-4144
(970) 249-8407

Garfield County Farm Service Agency
(Also serving Pitkin County)
258 Center Dr
Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
(970) 945-5494

Dolores County Farm Service Agency
(Also serving San Miguel County)
408 Main St
Dove Creek, CO 81324-0010
(970) 677-2229

Mesa County Farm Service Agency
2738 Crossroads Blvd
Grand Junction, CO 81506-3933
(970) 242-4511 ext 103