Bennet and Hickenlooper Resolution Recognizing National Native American Heritage Month Passes the Senate

Washington, D.C. — Colorado U.S. Senators Michael Bennet and John Hickenlooper joined U.S. Senator Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Chairman of the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, and U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Vice Chairwoman of the Committee in introducing and passing a resolution recognizing November 2022 as National Native American Heritage Month. The resolution passed the U.S. Senate yesterday with unanimous consent.

“National Native American Heritage Month must be about more than highlighting the cultural contributions of Tribal communities,” said Bennet. “Through this resolution, we are reaffirming our commitment and obligation to support Indigenous peoples in Colorado and nationwide.”

“National Native American Heritage Month celebrates the diversity, heritage, and culture of our Native American and Indigenous communities and their contributions to our country and Colorado,” said Hickenlooper.

Along with Bennet, Hickenlooper, Schatz, and Murkowski, the resolution is cosponsored by U.S. Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), John Hoeven (D-N.D.), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Angus King (I-Maine), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Ben Ray Luján (D-N.M.), Catherine Lummis (R-Wyo.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), and Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska).

The full text of the resolution is available HERE.