Bennet, Peters, Colleagues Introduce Bill to Block Trump Order Stripping Federal Employees of Critical Protections

Recent Executive Order Would Create Further Chaos in the Federal Government During Pandemic, Presidential Transition

Denver – Colorado U.S. Senator Michael Bennet, U.S. Senator Gary Peters (D-Mich.), and 39 Senate colleagues introduced legislation that would block the implementation of President Donald Trump’s October 21 executive order that created a new classification for federal employees, Schedule F. This harmful executive order would make it easier for the administration to fire non-partisan civil servants with policy expertise.

“President Trump’s executive order further destabilizes our government during a presidential transition and creates more uncertainty during an already turbulent time,” said Bennet. “His order is extremely harmful to federal employees who have diligently served our country — especially during the current public health crisis. That’s why I’m introducing this legislation to prevent the Trump Administration from creating more chaos and stripping protections from dedicated federal employees.”

“This recent executive order will not only strip protections away from hard-working, dedicated civil servants, but it also recklessly creates chaos and dysfunction during the ongoing pandemic and Presidential transition,” said Peters. “Our country is facing a number of serious challenges that must be quickly and effectively tackled, from safeguarding our national security to addressing the Coronavirus pandemic – and non-partisan federal employees carry out this critical work. I am proud to lead this legislation that will prevent the Trump Administration from creating uncertainty for federal employees at a time when their work is incredibly important to protecting American lives.”

“Congress should move quickly to stop Schedule F in its tracks. The executive order raises the risk of large-scale reclassifications and removals of civil servants over the next two months when our government should be focused on addressing the pandemic, aiding economic recovery and ensuring our national security,” said President and CEO of the Partnership for Public Service, Max Stier. “In the long term, the order will erode the merit-based, nonpartisan framework of the federal civil service, leading us back to the days of the spoils system and cronyism. Members of both parties should be alarmed.”

“The creation of Schedule F deeply undermines the apolitical, merit-based nature of our federal workforce. Rather than safeguarding our professional civil service, it reverts our government back to the spoils system of the 1800s,” said Senior Executives Association Interim President, Bob Corsi. “We appreciate recognition from Congress that this executive order is substantially flawed and must be repealed. SEA endorses this legislation as a necessary check on executive power and a critical starting point for allowing Congress to regain control of the civil service.”

On October 21, Trump signed an executive order that would allow agency heads to convert certain policy-centric positions to a new classification, Schedule F, where there is greater flexibility to fire those employees. Office of Personnel Management (OPM) Acting Director Michael Rigas issued preliminary guidance on October 23 that suggests a broad interpretation of the types of positions that would be eligible for conversion. This has created concern that the administration could fire civil servants and create uncertainty in federal agencies that are critical to protecting the nation’s national security and addressing the ongoing pandemic. OPM has still not answered basic questions regarding the development, implementation, and potential consequences of this hastily issued executive order.

The bill text is available HERE.

In addition to Bennet and Peters, the legislation was cosponsored by U.S. Senators Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Doug Jones (D-Ala.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Tom Udall (D-N.M.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.) Angus King (I-Maine), and Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.).