USDA Designates Delta, Gunnison, Mesa, and Montrose Counties as Disaster Areas Due to Severe Freeze

Washington, DC - Senator Michael Bennet announced today that the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated Delta County as a primary disaster area due to damage caused by severe periods of freezing that took place April 2nd through the 19th . Gunnison County, Mesa County, and Montrose County have been designated as contiguous disaster areas. Both of these designations make farm operators in these counties eligible to be considered for federal assistance, including Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

"The freeze in April of this year was severely damaging to crops and caused losses for producers on the western slope," Bennet said. "These disaster designations will allow farmers to access critical assistance to help them recover from the damages."

Producers in counties designated as primary or contiguous disaster areas are eligible to be considered for FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the disaster declaration to apply for assistance. Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers and ranchers with additional information.

# # #