Bennet, Scott Applaud Senate Passage of Resolution to Celebrate National Charter School Week

Earlier This Week, the Senators Led A Bipartisan Group of Their Colleagues In Introducing the Resolution

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senators Michael Bennet (D-Colo.) and Tim Scott (R-S.C.) applauded U.S. Senate passage of their resolution to celebrate National Charter School Week and commend charter schools for their contributions to education. 

“Every student deserves access to high-quality education to help set them up for future success," said Bennet. “During National Charter Schools Week, we celebrate the educators and school leaders who work day in and day out to make that possible and shape the next generation of leaders.” 

“Giving children an opportunity to reach their God-given potential is a priority for all parents, regardless of race, income, or zip code,” said Scott. “That’s why millions of families — including thousands in South Carolina — choose charter schools for the high-quality education they provide. We must do everything within our power to protect and expand families’ options by continuing to support our nation’s charter schools.”

Last week, Bennet, Scott, and a group of their colleagues wrote to Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona expressing their concerns about a proposed rule from the Department of Education that would jeopardize charter schools and limit families’ education options.

In addition to Bennet and Scott, the resolution was co-sponsored by U.S. Senators John Hickenlooper (D-Colo.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), and Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.). 

The text of the resolution is available HERE.